What do named vendors charge in 2026?
Every figure below was read off the vendor's own pricing page on
September 22, 2026 and is linked in the Vendor column. Where a vendor
does not publish a calendar-booking claim on its pricing page, the table says so rather
than assuming it.
Published vendor pricing, checked September 22, 2026. All figures USD per month unless noted.
| Vendor | Category | Published price | Billing unit | Books into your calendar? |
| Arkansas Automated | AI, done for you | $199 setup + $499/mo | Flat. Unlimited calls and minutes. | Yes, onto your calendar |
| Goodcall | AI, self-serve | $79 Starter · $129 Growth · $249 Scale, per agent | Flat per agent, unlimited minutes | Not stated on its pricing page |
| Dialzara | AI, self-serve | $29 (60 min) · $99 (220) · $199 (500) · $349 (1,000) | Per minute, $0.35 to $0.48 overage | Yes, calendar sync on Pro and above |
| Slang AI | AI, restaurants only | $399 Core · $599 Premium, per location | Flat per location | Yes, OpenTable and SevenRooms reservations |
| Abby | Human plus AI, one service | $165 (50 min) · $329 (100) · $599 (200) · $1,380 (500) | Per Abby Minute; AI uses half a minute | Not stated on its pricing page |
| Ruby | Live receptionists | $250 (50 min) · $395 (100) · $720 (200) · $1,725 (500) | Per minute | Yes, scheduling on all plans |
| PATLive | Live receptionists | $99 (50 min) · $189 (100) · $349 (200) · $479 (300) · $759 (500) · $1,499 (1,000) | Per minute | Yes, appointment scheduling |
| AnswerConnect | Live receptionists | $350 (200 min) · $395 (300 min) · $575 (400 min) | Per minute, rounded up | Yes, appointment scheduling |
| Smith.ai | Live receptionists | $300 (30 calls) · $810 (90) · $2,100 (300) | Per call, $8.50 to $11.50 overage | Yes, $1.50 per booked appointment |
Sources: each vendor's own pricing page, linked in the Vendor column, all checked
September 22, 2026. Synthflow sells enterprise voice-AI contracts from $30,000 a year and
is excluded from this comparison because it is a platform you build on, not a front desk.
AnswerConnect publishes three plans publicly and gates larger tiers behind a quote form.
What is the cost per call at 300 calls a month?
This is the number that decides the argument. Same shop for everyone:
300 calls a month, three minutes average, about 900 minutes. Where a
published plan does not cover the volume, the covered volume is shown instead of a
fictional overage.
Cost per call at 300 calls and 900 minutes a month, from published 2026 plans.
| Option | Monthly | Covers | Cost per call |
| Arkansas Automated AI front desk | $499 | 300 calls | $1.66 |
| Dialzara Business Elite | $349 | 1,000 min (300 calls) | $1.16 |
| Goodcall Growth | $129 | Unlimited | $0.43 |
| PATLive 1,000-minute plan | $1,499 | 1,000 min (300 calls) | $5.00 |
| AnswerConnect Standard + overage | $1,500 | 900 min (300 calls) | $5.00 |
| Smith.ai Pro | $2,100 | 300 calls | $7.00 |
| Abby Growth | $1,380 | 500 min (167 calls) | $8.28 |
| Ruby 500-minute plan | $1,725 | 500 min (167 calls) | $10.35 |
Cost per call is the published monthly price divided by 300 calls (or by the number of
calls the plan covers, for Abby and Ruby). Goodcall's $0.43 assumes the same 300 calls on
an unlimited plan; it is flat per agent, so the figure falls as volume rises. Taxes and
fees are excluded.
How do the two compare feature by feature?
Arkansas Automated's AI front desk against a typical per-minute answering service.
| AI receptionist | Answering service |
| Answer speed | First ring, every call, unlimited simultaneous calls | Queue at busy times; spillover during call floods |
| Availability | 24/7/365, no holidays or sick days | 24/7 plans cost more; overnight quality varies |
| Cost structure | Flat monthly ($499/mo with us), no per-minute meter | Per minute ($1.44 to $3.60 on published plans) or per call ($7 to $10) |
| Booking jobs | Books into your real calendar during the call | Ruby, PATLive, AnswerConnect, and Smith.ai schedule; message-taking tiers do not |
| Script consistency | Exact, every call, updated the day you change it | Varies by operator and by shift |
| Judgment and empathy | Hands off to your humans by rule | Real human judgment, when you get a good operator |
| Call records | Recording, transcript, and summary of every call | Message slips; recordings rare |
Where the answering service still wins
Judgment calls. A grieving family calling a funeral home, an angry customer who needs a
person to take responsibility, a caller whose situation fits no script. Human operators
with real empathy handle those better than any voice system, and a good service earns
its fee on those calls alone. The catch: you are paying pool rates for shared operators,
and the great operator who knew your business rotates off your account.
Where the AI wins, and it is most of the day
The other ninety percent of calls: hours, pricing ranges, booking, rescheduling,
directions, service questions. The AI answers on the first ring at 2 AM during a storm
surge, follows your script exactly on call four hundred the same as call one, and books
into your calendar instead of leaving you a message to return. The caller who would have
hung up on hold becomes a booked job.
The honest setup for most shops is the AI front desk with human escalation rules:
routine calls handled instantly, judgment calls handed to your people immediately. You
stop paying per minute for a stranger to take messages, and your humans only touch the
calls that actually need a human.
What does the price gap buy over 12 months?
At 300 calls a month, the Arkansas Automated AI front desk costs
$6,187 in the first 12 months including the $199 setup. Over the same
12 months, from published plans, the alternatives run:
First 12 months at 300 calls and 900 minutes a month.
| Option | First 12 months | Difference vs the Arkansas AI front desk |
| Arkansas Automated AI front desk | $6,187 | — |
| Abby Growth (500 min) | $16,560 | $8,096 more |
| PATLive 1,000-minute plan | $17,988 | $9,524 more |
| Ruby 500-minute plan | $20,700 | $12,236 more |
| Smith.ai Pro (300 calls) | $25,200 | $16,736 more |
Computed from the published plans in the first table. Arkansas Automated is $199 setup
plus 12 months at $499. Self-serve AI software is cheaper than the AI front desk in this
window: Goodcall Growth is $1,548 for 12 months and Dialzara Business Elite is $4,188,
with the build and the monthly tuning on you. These are published prices and Arkansas
Automated's arithmetic, not a promise of results.
Frequently asked questions
Is an AI receptionist cheaper than an answering service?
At real call volume, yes. At 300 calls a month, published answering-service plans cost $1,380 to $2,100 a month: Abby Growth $1,380, PATLive's 1,000-minute plan $1,499, AnswerConnect Standard plus overage about $1,500, Ruby's 500-minute plan $1,725, and Smith.ai's 300-call Pro plan $2,100. An AI front desk from Arkansas Automated is $499 a month flat at the same volume, plus a $199 setup. The cheapest published AI is self-serve software: Dialzara from $29 a month and Goodcall from $79 a month, which you configure yourself.
What is the difference between an AI receptionist and an answering service?
An answering service is a shared pool of human operators who answer your calls, follow a script, and usually take a message. An AI receptionist is software that answers your line on the first ring, follows your script exactly, handles unlimited simultaneous calls, and books the job into your calendar during the call. The answering service wins on judgment and empathy; the AI wins on speed, consistency, availability, and cost per call.
How much does an answering service cost per call?
At 300 calls a month averaging three minutes, published plans work out to about $5.00 per call on PATLive's 1,000-minute plan, about $5.00 on AnswerConnect Standard plus overage, $7.00 on Smith.ai's 300-call Pro plan, $8.28 on Abby Growth, and $10.35 on Ruby's 500-minute plan. Arkansas Automated's AI front desk is $1.66 per call at the same volume, and Goodcall's self-serve agent is $0.43 per call on an unlimited plan.
Does an AI receptionist work for a small Arkansas service business?
Yes, and that is the case it fits best. A one-truck or two-truck shop cannot staff 168 hours a week, and the owner answering between jobs is how calls leak. The AI front desk answers at 2 AM during a storm surge, follows the same script on call 400 as on call one, and hands judgment calls to your people by rule.
When should a business keep its answering service instead?
When most of your calls are judgment calls: a funeral home at 3 AM, an upset customer who needs someone to take responsibility, a situation that fits no script. Human operators handle those better than any voice system, and a good service earns its fee on those calls alone. The catch is that you pay pool rates for shared operators, and the operator who learned your business rotates off your account.
Do AI receptionists and answering services cost the same for nights and weekends?
Not always. Arkansas Automated's $499 includes nights, weekends, and storm surges with no per-minute meter. PATLive states that its 24/7 service is covered by one monthly price on every plan. Ruby, Abby, and Smith.ai publish 24/7 coverage in their plans too. Where per-minute billing applies, after-hours volume costs the same per minute as daytime volume, which is why the monthly total scales with call length rather than the clock.